Posted by: Lawrence D. Elliott | August 24, 2011

Storm Watching

 

Storm Watching in the Land of Hessen

The distant dark clouds began to roll in as I watched the flashing of the lightning. The distance was quickly being erased with each minute as I prepared for the vicious storm to strike its blow. The closer it came, the more the trees began to bend as the mighty wind willed them into submission. Soon a curtain of thick rain blurred the peaceful beauty of the small German village of Fehlheim. What was graced with sunlight was now cursed with stormy darkness.

The buildup of water began to rapidly run. The few drivers who decided to brave the elements were forced to turn on their lights as they slowly made their way down the stormy streets. As I stared out the window, I could hear the drumbeat of the pounding rain on the ceiling window of my small apartment at the top of the building.

I was warned to turn off all electrical power and prepare for the worst. Although I’m from Southern California, I’ve travel to many places in this world and I’ve lived through a multitude of weather conditions, I’ve experienced everything from earthquakes to hurricanes to tornados to floods. This initially seemed like an unnecessary precaution. But I complied, if for no other reason than the urgency in the voice the one giving the warning. Better to be safe than sorry.

I decided to continue to write my thoughts using my Blackberry, moving from window to window as I watched the dramatic scene unfold.

I could see the flash on the sides of houses as the lightning continued. The powerful thunder was almost deafening as it cracked again and again. A few times it sounded and felt like it was happening in middle of the tiny Dachwohnung in which I lived.

The village was not huge, but not small either. The horizon began to disappear into the heavy curtain of water as the storm made its way. Then, as suddenly as it appeared, the storm had completely moved over the horizon, making its way to destroy the tranquility of the inhabitants of the next village.

Thirty minutes and it was over.

Now, it’s back to editing the novel before the next storm comes. I’m told I only have a few hours.

Leave a Reply

Categories

