Posted by: Lawrence D. Elliott | February 18, 2012

“Bitte was?” available on Amazon Kindle

Bitte was? An American author’s misadventures in the German language

Last week, my first Kindle single selection was released. This is the first in a series of such projects I hope to get completed by April. And I’ve been busy with the marketing to make it successful, while trying to maintain my schedule so that my other writing projects don’t suffer. There is no time to waste. Unfortunately, there are only 24 hours in a day. If only there were 25 or 26. Now that would be enough…as long as I don’t sleep.

The title is “Bitte was? An American author’s misadventures in the German language. I had a lot of fun writing it and I’m pretty damn proud of it. The title is pretty self-explanatory, but I’ll give you a brief outline of the plot. And remember, you can click here to visit Amazon for a peek inside:

Have you ever taken a foreign language?’

Have you ever tried to say something in “perfect” German (or French or Spanish or Mandarin), only to realize you’ve made a terrible mistake?

Have you ever said something that left the other person completely speechless or shocked?

Have you ever said something you thought was a compliment, only to find out you said something extremely rude?

Perhaps, you’ve studied a language in school and you’d like to understand what it’s like to hold real conversations in the real world?

Then, THIS IS FOR YOU!

I’m not a teacher or professor. This is not a language book or a dry instruction manual. My world is not the clean or pristine environment of a classroom where you’d hear perfect German spoken by professional performers. By the way, who speaks perfectly in any language?

I wrote this with the the real world in mind as I share what I’ve encountered as I relearn German. Maybe I can save others from making the same mistakes I’ve made, while having a little fun.

(Print length: 20 pages)

*** FREE RESOURCES INCLUDED ***

At the end of this single, I’ve included a SPECIAL RESOURCES section. Here, I’ve provided a special link to my web site where you can use free tools I’ve used that will help you improve your German. You should bookmark this page because I’ll continue to add to it.

Again, click here to visit Amazon for a peek inside. I’d love your feedback.

Leave a Reply

Categories

