Posted by: Lawrence D. Elliott | February 18, 2012

Confidence in my work

“If I’m not confident of my own work, why should I expect anyone buy it?”

Every writer writes with the full intention his or work will be read. Who sits downs and spends a chunk of his or her life toiling over a keyboard, then hits SAVE button with excitement, saying, “Now, that’s something they’ll enjoy reading after I’m dead!”

Not me! I want my work to be read today! Now, if possible!

But with the number of books being published, it’s getting harder and harder to grab the attention of potential readers. It’s been estimated that there were over 400,000 books published in 2007. Although no definitive statistics for subsequent years can be agreed upon, it’s a sure bet the numbers did not decrease. This is especially true with the growth of indie publishing.

So, as I journey through my writing odyssey, how am I going to get my share of asses in the seats? Or should I say, eyeballs on the page?

While doing some research on the web, I found a new tool to help me create interest in my current and future work. It’s called Kindle for the Web. It allows Internet users to read and share book samples, without leaving their browsers. It’s great for Amazon. It will not only help them sell more books, but it could also sell more physical Kindles.

But Kindle for the Web is also great for writers.

Suppose you have a book at Amazon. Naturally, you have an Amazon product page. You also have the “Look Inside” feature activated, which allows Amazon shoppers to read a sample before making a purchase. Maybe you even get an Amazon Author’s page with it cross-linked with all of your books at Amazon. Super! You’re set! But what about your personal website? You could always add a link to Amazon like everyone else, but what about something with real power?

Enter Kindle  for the Web. I created a page on my website for my Amazon single Bitte was? An American author’s misadventures in the German language and set it up so visitors can not only read the description, but they can actually take a look inside, too. This gives them a chance to see my writing style, my get a flavor of the story, and understand if this is for them before they buy. It’s only $0.99, but in this economy, every purchase needs to be justified. It’s my job to make it easier for them.

And as I add more work to Amazon, my web visitors will be able to sample all of my work without leaving my website…until they’re ready to purchase. Then, with a click of a button, they can buy.

Of course, this requires having confidence in one’s work to be able to do this. This doesn’t mean every reader is supposed to love every writer. But if a writer doesn’t have confidence in his or her own work, why should consumers?

Click here to look inside Bitte was? An American author’s misadventures in the German language.

☼         ☼         ☼

If you liked reading this post, please take a look at my books and singles. My most recent release is a collection (only $1.99!) titled Christmas Stories from my Heart: Four unforgettable holiday tales from my life . In fact, you can find all of my work listed at my Amazon.com author page here, or at my website here.  Thank you so much for reading my blog.

☼         ☼         ☼

Leave a Reply

Categories

