Posted by: Lawrence D. Elliott | February 22, 2012

Marketing, marketing, marketing…

“Bitte was?” is still #1 in 3 categories at Amazon.de! Danke!

Marketing, marketing, marketing…

Every single day, that has to be the first thing I think about. Before I brush my teeth. Before I take my first sip of coffee. Even before I turn on my laptop.

Yesterday, I saw my single Bitte was? An American author’s misadventures in the German language was still number one in three categories at Amazon.de. In addition, it is #386 of all PAID Amazon.de Kindle eBooks. But the numbers for the English-language Amazon sites are far behind. This puzzles me, especially since the piece is written in English! I never saw this one coming. I never thought this could be possible. An English-language piece is number one outside the US? As they would put it in this area: Häää?

I can hear the comments now: “What do you expect, Lawrence? It’s about the German language!”

I know. I know. I know. And I’m grateful that it’s selling at all. How many indie authors don’t sell a single copy of their work?

But come on, my American brothers and sisters! The fact that it’s about German shouldn’t scare you. It’s quite humorous, actually. And, if I can say this, I’d figure there would be quite a few people back home who would enjoy reading about me making a fool of myself in Germany. Perhaps they should treat themselves to a bit of guilty pleasure. {smile}

But today is another day. Another chance to find those missing pieces of my marketing puzzle. Because my future writing will not always be about Germany or German. Which means I can’t expect the great people of Germany to keep bailing me out.

Such is the life of being an indie author, huh? Time to stop whining and get to work.

☼         ☼         ☼

If you liked reading this post, please take a look at my books and singles. My most recent release is a collection (only $1.99!) titled Christmas Stories from my Heart: Four unforgettable holiday tales from my life . In fact, you can find all of my work listed at my Amazon.com author page here, or at my website here.  Thank you so much for reading my blog.

☼         ☼         ☼

4F5XV5K45469

Google+

Responses

  1. I’ve just begun reading it, and love it so far! Congrats, Lawrence. Please keep the good writing coming.


Leave a Reply

Categories

