Posted by: Lawrence D. Elliott | March 18, 2012

When does silence equal approval?

Racist Obama Bumper Sticker: Don't Re-Nig in 2012

Racist Obama Bumper Sticker: “Don’t Re-Nig in 2012”

There was a bumper sticker making the rounds on the Internet and the news this week. It’s the image of the racist anti-Obama bumper sticker with the words:

“Don’t Re-Nig in 2012. Stop repeat offenders. Don’t reelect Obama!”

It’s an obvious play on the fact that President Obama is black. I know we try to shy away from the words racist or racism these days, but I don’t know what else to call it. How do we dress this pig up in a pretty little suit for those finicky about these words? We can’t. And I’m tired of us trying to do so. It is racism, plain and simple. The makers of this type of product know this, so why do we pretend not to know it?

I debated on whether to post the image. In the end, I did it because we’ve all seen it before and as the election draws nearer, we’ll see more of it, believe me. So get used to it, America!

And this business offered more than just one product:

One with a picture of an ape that reads, “Obama 2012″

A drawing of the Confederate flag with the message “If this flag has offended you, then it made my day!”

And another that features members of the Ku Klux Klan and reads, “The Original Boys In The Hood.”

They have since shut down their website, but another website is selling their version of the “Don’t Re-Nig in 2012”  product. I guess the originator wasn’t smart enough to copyright it! What a shame. All of those lost dollars on the table for another bigoted businessperson to grab. But wait! There’s a twist!

You see, it seems a woman from Georgia claims to have had the product in her inventory since 2010. She also said in an interview at Forbes.com that the word nigger (the word to which “Nig” refers, in case you didn’t get it) is not a racist word (see the complete story at Forbes.com). Her comments are very interesting. Interesting in a sort of warped mentality kind of way.

I’m sure there are many who would also want the second operation closed. I’m not sure if that’s a good thing or a bad thing. However, this attitude does anger me…but in a good way. Sound crazy? Let me explain.

We are in the year 2012 and we’re still dealing with this idiotic belief. From the day President Obama was elected, he has had to deal with such silliness as having the authenticity of his birth certificate challenged, his nationality disputed, his educational achievements belittled, and his religious beliefs questioned, And when all else fails, those who really have a red hot hatred for him revert to the old standby: nigger. In the end, President Obama is just a nigger (or half-nigger, as I’ve read in some blog posts) and they resent him being in office. To me, that is what this “I want my country back” nonsense has always been about. I think the closest these crazies have ever wanted to get to having a black man in the oval office is President Bill Clinton.

I guess you think I’m on a rant, right? Well…maybe.

But when will these words of hate turn into actions of violence? When will someone stop talking and start acting on their hatred? We’ve already seem the President at events in some states where citizens have openly carried rifles in the vicinity of where he was speaking. And it’s not like we’ve ever had a President assassinated, right?

Am I just overreacting? Don’t all acts of violence begin with words? And doesn’t dehumanizing another person make it easy for someone to rationalize committing such acts?

Oh I understand. “Don’t talk like that, Lawrence. Let’s just wait until something happens, and then we can ask these questions.”

No, everyone who doesn’t support President Obama is not a racist. It you didn’t vote for him or you won’t vote for him in 2012, that doesn’t make you a racist. But it’s my estimation that there are about 25-30% of the population that cannot and will not accept the fact we have a black President. Maybe these racist vendors do us a favor by marking these extremists so we’ll know exactly who they are. Here’s a nice bumper sticker to have:

“I am the 30%!”

Sort of a scarlet R for these idiots who don’t quite understand we’re all trying to have a civilization here and they’re just getting in the way. Whenever I encounter such people, I immediately remind myself of something:

For every asshole standing in front of me, there is someone of the same color who has great character. Maybe even greater than my own.

Then, I immediately voice my disagreement. Respectfully, if possible. But for some people, that just doesn’t work. A lot of people say it’s freedom of speech and they should be allowed to say whatever they want. And this is true. But they should also realize that such a freedom does not free them from responsibility. It also doesn’t guarantee them the reaction they think they deserve. The other person has certain freedoms, too. Fortunately, I saw a lot of people exercise their freedom to voice their disgust with products like these. Thank God for that! Sadly, this isn’t the end and there are still too many who remain silent.

Wake up, America! The world is watching! I’m getting damn tired of trying to convince everyone here that America has changed, only to be greeted by a skeptical expression because they just watched the news and saw what occurs in our polical system. And I don’t want to hear the tired American cop-out that it’s worse somewhere else. I don’t give a shit! This is America and I know it’s has changed! I was involved in that changed as were many others! We just have a few holdouts who refuse to join us in the 21st century!

No matter what we’d like to think, racism will always the an option for those with hate in their hearts. Let’s cut the crap and see it for what it is. And because we are constantly telling the world how great we are and pointing out their problems, it’s time to stand up and live by the same ideals we preach. Otherwise, you ‘ll have ask yourself this questions:

“Am I offering approval of these racist beliefs through my silence?”

[Related post: Who is William Joseph Baxley II?]

☼         ☼         ☼

If you liked reading this post, please take a look at my books and singles. My most recent release is a collection (only $1.99!) titled Christmas Stories from my Heart: Four unforgettable holiday tales from my life . In fact, you can find all of my work listed at my Amazon.com author page here, or at my website here.  Thank you so much for reading my blog.

☼         ☼         ☼

Google+

Responses

  1. My brother recommended I might like this website. He was
    entirely right. This post truly made my day. You can not imagine just how much time I had spent for this info!
    Thanks!

    • Thank you and your brother so much, Tammara. I’m glad you like my blog. Take care.


Leave a Reply

Categories

